I cannot continue, in good conscience, to push these little ones to such stress levels that they do not WANT to come to school. — Teacher Who Quit

Teachers' Letters to Bill Gates

Dear Mr. Gates,

I would like to believe that you have children’s best interests at heart, but I’m concerned that you are so high up in your ivory tower that you can’t hear what those of us who live under your money-driven policies live with. Children need solid relationships with the adults in their lives BEFORE they need technology.

By pushing children into test taking and developmentally inappropriate “standards” education, the important social skills and relationships they need don’t develop. In my classroom, I’ve spent more time trying to “test prep” kindergarteners than allowing them to be children.

I quit my job, because it is wrong on soooo many levels.  I cannot continue, in good conscience, to push these little ones to such stress levels that they do not WANT to come to school.  By raising the bar for “standard” children, you are hurting the children who cannot yet reach…

View original post 91 more words

