“What sober person gives standardized tests to a kindergartner? Ever meet a 5-year-old?” – Part 2

Teachers' Letters to Bill Gates

What Sober Person - Tweet

Dear Bill and Melinda,

I wrote “What sober person gives standardized tests to a kindergartner? Ever meet a 5-year-old?” – Part 1 to give parents of five year olds the beginning of some insight into what is happening because of your corporate reforms behind our closed doors. Here, in Part 2, I will discuss exactly what my testing schedule looks like in my kindergarten classroom.  We know parents in our schools of poverty love their children as much as you love yours.  We know they have a high interest in their children’s education too.  I begin this post, I begin with  an important question to you.

Our parents in schools of poverty are highly interested, but why are you? What brings you, Melinda, Arne Duncan,  and “the state” to suddenly taking an interest in early childhood education? Could it be the untapped billions of profit in testing Pre-schoolers and…

View original post 2,926 more words

