John Young:

exactly

Originally posted on Diane Ravitch's blog:

Since I wrote that I could not support the Common Core, several readers have written to say that I criticized the process of its creation and implementation, not its content. My response to more than one reader was that means and ends both matter. You can’t do the right thing in the wrong way. You can’t suspend democratic process for what you think is the good of the people. Good things imposed by force tend not to stick. (See my thoughts–written in March 2014–about “The Fatal Flaw of the Common Core Standards“, which demonstrates that they violated every protocol of standard-setting and ignored due process, transparency, the right of appeal, etc.)

This reader explains her objections to the process:

My thoughts on the CC:

Subtexts: Close Reading of the Common Core

As ridiculous as it sounds, my resistance to the common core standards is disconnected from its content. The…

View original 377 more words

